Article News Business Practice Contaminated Land Data Management Executive Geotechnical Instrumentation & Monitoring Laboratories Loss Prevention Safety Sustainability

AGS Awards 2024

- by

We’re delighted to announce this year’s AGS Award winners!

Chosen from a select number of AGS Working Group Members, these winners were nominated by their Working Group Leaders in testament to their hard work and dedication to the AGS over the past year.

A huge well done and thank you to the following Award and commendation winners for their extraordinary work and ongoing contributions to the AGS:

Contaminated Land Working Group Award Winners

  • Andrew Tranter, Associate Technical Director at RSK
  • Darren Makin, GI Geoenvironmental Lead at Socotec

Executive Award Winner

  • Alex Dent, Associate Director at WSP

Executive Commendation

  • Alison Nicholson, Geoenvironmental Team Lead, Associate Geoenvironmental Consultant at Buro Happold

Data Management Working Group Award

  • Neil Chadwick, Director at Digital Geotechnical

Geotechnical Working Group Award

  • Katharine Barker, Associate at CampbellReith
  • Emma Cronin, Heathrow GI Senior Geotechnical Engineer at Socotec

Geotechnical Working Group Commendation

  • Paul Roberts, Regional Director, Ground Engineering, UK & Ireland Aecom

Laboratories Working Group Award

  • Will Fardon, Technical Director at Chemtech Environmental

Loss Prevention Working Group Award

  • David Hutchinson, AGS Honorary Member
  • Neil Parry, Director at Geotechnical Engineering

Safety Working Group Award

  • Liz Withington, Principal EngineeringGeologist at CC Ground Investigations
  • Madeleine Bardsley, Technical Director at WSP

Safety Working Group Commendation

  • Owen Seymour, Associate- Engineering Geologist (Geotechnical & Tunnelling) at WSP

Sustainability Working Group Award

  • Vivien Dent, Technical Specialist: Green Growth and Delivery at the Environment Agency
  • Sam Setchell, Principal Engineering Geologist at Jackson Geo Services


To view the montage of acceptance speeches from our winners, just click on the video below.